“It is not flesh and blood but the heart that makes us fathers.”

We were walking home from work in the early summer heat and noticed the older blind man seeming disoriented near the bottom of 18th Street, searching for the curb edge with his walking stick but finding only a light pole. “Excuse me,” was all he got out before my husband asked if he needed some help. “I’m trying to get up by the McDonald’s,” he said, smiling but clearly a little embarrassed. “We can get you there,” my husband said, offering his arm which the man eagerly took.

Slowly we made our way up 18th, the man apologizing for inconveniencing us, explaining that he was diabetic as he ducked his chin toward the medical bag slung across his chest. Even though he was born and raised in D.C. he hadn’t been in Adams Morgan in a while and was a little lost, he said. My husband assured him it was no inconvenience and gently navigated him around the early evening foot traffic in front of the restaurants and bars, asking him more about growing up in the city.

When we got near the McDonald’s the man said he was trying to get to one of the banks across Columbia Road and my husband offered to walk him right there. He helped him across the busy intersection and took him to the front door of the bank, opening it, shaking his hand, asking if he would be OK from there.

The whole time I’d walked a little ahead and to the side, to avoid getting in the way of the man’s walking stick and my husband’s path. I listened as he put the man at ease with his natural, reporter’s way of chatting with total strangers, all while helping him make the long trip uphill to the bank. I don’t remember what the man said on the walk, the names of the now-closed restaurants and music joints he’d mentioned, or what high school he’d said he attended. The whole time I was thinking that I was terribly lucky that the man guiding him was going to be my child’s father.

Happy Fathers Day,
Bird

Father'sDay3

13 Responses to ““It is not flesh and blood but the heart that makes us fathers.””

  1. Hayes Says:

    Thanks for posting this.

  2. lemmonex Says:

    I just welled up. Someone once told me to marry a man you’d be proud to say “he is my child’s father”. You have found it.

  3. freckledk Says:

    Ditto on the welling up bit. Lovely, Bird. Thanks for sharing.

  4. johanna Says:

    Love.

    Happy first Father’s Day, Father Bird!

  5. Skywalker Says:

    Happy Father’s Day!

  6. K Says:

    Happy Father’s Day, Mr. Bird!!

  7. Urban Girl Says:

    This was so touching! Thank you for sharing.

  8. Lacey Says:

    Grandma Tootsie, Aunt Peggy, Aunt Diann, Joe and I all read this yesterday, during our San Marcos Father’s Day/Family Birthday get-together… very touching… we love y’all!

  9. Daddy O Says:

    “Welling up”?? I am here to tell you, my eyes did more than “well up”! Tears flowed freely! THAT’S MY SON-IN-LAW! Way to go – you did good in picking this guy.
    Love you guys!

  10. Dr.K Says:

    I’m always proud of my brother, but this story makes me extra proud.

    I think I got something in my eye.

    k

  11. etcetera Says:

    love it.

  12. Mrs. Avery Says:

    I just got around to looking at this.

    I got all teary reading this, and blamed it on my pregnant hormones until I read that everyone else was tearing up too.

    Thank you for sharing.

  13. watch dogs xbox 360 Says:

    We absolutely love your blog and find many of
    your post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for.
    can you offer guest writers to write content for you personally?
    I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write with regards to here. Again, awesome weblog!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

