Do We Have to Pay VAT Taxes on This?

We came back from our honeymoon to Ireland with a baby. While other visitors to the Emerald Isle typically prefer to scoop up an Aran sweater or a Waterford vase, we opted for a life-altering souvenir of the belly-swelling sort. Not that we exactly knew it at the time. Had I known while returning through customs I would of course have huffed, when asked if I had anything to declare, “That is absolutely none of your business, sir.”

Today we find ourselves at 14 weeks and some change. The young lad(y) is due in early August, at which time we presume it will instantly brand itself a D.C. native by crowing about how blissfully empty the restaurants are and sighing with irritation from its Baby Bjorn perch at tourists standing to the left on Metro escalators.

Feel free to come along for the fun. If you think this is going to be a mommy blog, you probably don’t know the Bird that well. You’ll learn. And yes, of course you should immediately start emailing me stupid baby junk that you find on the interwebs. Because yes, of course there are going to be Why the Baby Industry Hates Us Fridays.

19 Responses to “Do We Have to Pay VAT Taxes on This?”

  1. fivehusbands Says:

    Congratulations!

  2. I-66 Says:

    If you eventually post a breastfeeding photo on Facebook in poetic protest I am going to unfriend you.

  3. Jess Says:

    Oh! This is so exciting! Congratulations! I can’t wait to read along.

  4. janet Says:

    as a big fan of Bridal Bird (often a lurker though, sorry) I would like to wish you a big Congratulations, and I am looking forward to the newest incarnation of the Bird blog series…

  5. Lemmonex Says:

    God, I cannot wait. Congrats.

  6. Jessica Says:

    OMG, congratulations! What a wonderful little honeymoon souvenir!

  7. K Says:

    “the young LAD?!?!”

  8. K Says:

    ah, “lad(y),” ok

  9. Shannon Says:

    Congratulations!

  10. EastportBride Says:

    Fabulous! Congratulations, and welcome back to the blogosphere.

  11. suicide_blond Says:

    Yay You!!!!!
    oops..YAY BOTH of you!!!
    best wishes!
    xoxo

  12. Arjewtino Says:

    You know, just last night as I was walking to the Metro, I thought to myself, “The Bird really needs to continue her brand. Maybe start a blog called Newlywed Bird. I should tell her tomorrow.”

    I like this one better. Congrats.

  13. Bridal Bird Says:

    Thank you everyone! It feels good to be back to blogging. Actually it feels good to be doing anything but puking, but that’s a story for another day. And I-66, I promise this will be a body-part free zone. For serious.

  14. Phil Says:

    <>bbbewwwwaaahahahahehehehee….

    …uh, I mean, congratulations!

  15. Bridal Bird Says:

    (glowering)

  16. Heather B. Says:

    Heh.

    I’m not laughing. Never.

    A little.

    And now I’m pissed off that I didn’t get you those tickets because you would’ve had to name it after me. OH and even MORE pissed that I didn’t stop by when I was at your office (um, last week) and then you could have told me in person and seen my reaction in real time!

  17. J. Says:

    Oh – yay! Congratulations! Also – so glad you’re back. 🙂

  18. Urban Girl Says:

    Wow, congratulations! I’m so excited for the new blog!

  19. Happy St. Patrick’s Day! « Baby Bird Says:

    […] we had better luck with our smuggled goods than these folks who returned home on an Aer Lingus flight this week. Damn those TSA […]

Leave a Reply

