Here Be Monsters!

If you think that video with the two young lasses and one beverage container is the most disturbing thing on the internet, you have clearly not seen the video below.* During a chat last evening outside of my husband’s newspaper, his colleague Mike–who recently welcomed his second adorable offspring into the world–mentioned that you can see a baby moving in the mother’s stomach near the end of pregnancy. Now, I assumed that he meant there’s an occasionally faintly visible tappa tappa tappa or something. But no, he meant a full-on, undulating belly sea sent roiling by the eight pound, six ounce Loch Ness Monster inside. If I thought I was freaked out standing there on the sidewalk I had another thing coming when I got home. Specifically, I had YouTube coming.

This is just one of many horrifying results when you search “baby moving in stomach.” The miracle of life never looked so utterly creepy.

*Yes, I realize I’m costing myself untold Google traffic by not putting the actual name of it in this post. Baby Bird doesn’t need the miscreants looking for it shuffling over to her site and leaving their slimy disgruntled comments all over a post about say, baby blankets or baptism party cakes.
7 Responses to “Here Be Monsters!”

  1. J. Says:

    Ew. No, seriously, ew.

  2. K Says:

    I had no idea until I worked three feet from a pregnant woman. Every once in a while, she would go, “Look! A foot!” I tried not to be horrified. Now I think it’s cool. Really.

  3. Phil Says:

    Awww…just like “Alien”.

  4. Michelle Says:

    When it is your own belly, it will be *slightly* less horrifying to watch. I never got over the sense that this alien creature was attempting to claw his way out though.

  5. Bridal Bird Says:

    J-Mmhmm. Double ew, indeed.
    K-Maybe I’ll be singing a different tune than “double ew” when it’s my own.”
    Phil-Worse. It’s like Alien andddd Predator are in there.
    Michelle-We’ll see.

  6. E Says:

    Wow – that’s pretty crazy. I like the TV commentary in the background that ends with “there’s no need for panic.” Really?, because I’d feel lots of panic if that was my belly!

  7. Erika Robuck Says:

    Okay, I know I’m weird, but that seriously made me miss being pregnant.

Leave a Reply

