Why My Friend the Cuban Reporter Will Never Babysit My Child

First the cell phone picture he sent:

babytreadmill

And now his message:
So I’m having a few drinks here in Coral Gables and came out for a smoke. Swanky area of town, fancy shops, all that uppity stuff. There’s this fancy dog store called Dog Bar and I noticed this in the window. Sure, it’s made for dogs, but I saw it and immediately thought of your soon-to-be-born. It would not only keep your baby in peak physical condition but after strapping that baby in there, you’re free to do things around the house, run to the grocery store, stop in for happy hour, whatever. And before you ask, no, I couldn’t make out the price from the window.

Suffice it to say, we are still accepting nanny applications. Please include references.

P.S.–He is correct in assuming I do actually want this and would want to know the price. Because there’s a fuzzy, four-legged member of the family who got a little doughy after a long winter of Milk Bones and nog.

6 Responses to “Why My Friend the Cuban Reporter Will Never Babysit My Child”

  1. K Says:

    Murphy could use some exercise – he came back from the grandparents’ quite chubby this go-round. Want to do a timeshare? 🙂

  2. Bridal Bird Says:

    I fear dear Murphy would just sit on it and not understand why he keeps falling off the end. God how I love that big galoot.

  3. Hammer Says:

    You can expect my nanny application shortly.

    P.S. – I’m not kidding.

  4. Bridal Bird Says:

    SQUEEE!! (clapping hands in glee)

  5. K Says:

    I actually got him to run around the block with me for his “walk” last night! But you’re right – he would never get on a treadmill. Big, sweet bear.

  6. On the Origin of the Specious Baby Gift « Baby Bird Says:

    […] us. Inside lay Charles Darwin’s The Voyage of the Beagle — a baby gift from our friend the Cuban Reporter, according to the packing slip inside. This was certainly a non-traditional route for a baby gift, […]

Leave a Reply

