Peeps Show

Spring means many different things for many people. Easter for some. Passover for others. Secular Cadbury Crème Egg consumption for all. For me, it means Peeps dioramas.

For the second year, I’ve tried my dainty hand at making a miniature tableau with that most divisive of Easter candies, the Peep. My last outing, two years ago, resulted in a finalist spot in the Washington Post‘s inaugural Peeps diorama contest. I parlayed that into a freelance writing gig for the Post. Call me a nerdlinger with too much time on my hands, but the Bird got paaaaid as a result of that little box. Here are the goods from that year:

marpeepantoinette1Marpeep Antoinette

This year, I stuck with a subject currently close to my heart, literally: babies. This wasn’t for the Post‘s contest. Rather, it is for work where my colleagues are getting in on the Peeps diorama action just for giggles.

peepsfront

peepsside

It’s much simpler than the last one but it was also a heck of a lot cheaper. (Do you have any idea how much a miniature candleabra costs? Oye vey. May my daughter grow up to be in the miniature home accessories business.)

So there it is, your own rite of spring: annual confirmation that I am a nerdlinger with too much time on my hands.

8 Responses to “Peeps Show”

  1. Daddy O Says:

    “Yum! Peeps”!

  2. I-66 Says:

    … and you do this with the knowledge that it will probably be the last occasion upon which you’ll have the time to do it.

  3. etcetera Says:

    the mobile is my fave part.

  4. Big Brother Says:

    Just keep up with your peep natal care. Ha! I crack me up.

  5. Phil Says:

    Is there a PICU for the preemie-peeps?

  6. Curious Says:

    Those PGH bracelets look pretty authentic. Did you actually rob a hospital for this endeavor? Are there nurses at Georgetown huddled together trying to remember which baby belongs to who since all their little bracelets were taken!?!?!

  7. babybird Says:

    DaddyO-No eating the artwork!
    I-66-Right. Until it’s time for me to start doing all of my child’s homework projects.
    Etc.-Tee hee. So tiny.
    BigBro-hardy har har
    Phil-see also, hardy har har
    Curious-I don’t know nothin’ about nothin’. The tiny pacifiers though? Let’s just say the Georgetown maternity ward is one loud place right about now.

  8. Mike Licht Says:

    Macaroons ain’t nothin’ but Old Testament Peeps.

    See

    http://notionscapital.wordpress.com/2009/04/09/moses-and-macaroons/

Leave a Reply

