Belly Jams Vol. I

Imagine being stuck in a room for nine months with nothing to do but twiddle your tiny thumbs. In an effort to alleviate the baby’s boredom, I’ve been playing her some tunes through the iPod (fancy shmancy noise-canceling headphones fit the belly perfectly) and singing her others. Call it Baby’s First Playlist. Her tastes are eclectic, to be sure.

“1, 2, 3, 4,” Feist
She prefers the Sesame Street version, natch.

My Baby Just Cares for Me, Nina Simone
Don’t worry, the baby’s not being elitist. (Yet.) It’s not you. My husband and I are the only two people she knows thus far so of course she just cares for us.

Beyond the Sea, Bobby Darin
As a summer baby, she’s naturally gravitated toward one of the greatest summer tunes of all time. However, I have no idea how she managed to requisition a tiny pool float and sunglasses in there.

Starálfur, Sigur Rós
I play this for her in the hopes that she will come to have an appreciation of incredible music, as well as possess the Zen calm that Sigur Rós music inspires. Also, this is the band that I’d want providing the soundtrack were I forced to float around in utero all over again for nine months.

Tamacun, Rodrigo y Gabriela
I can only infer that she’s a big fan of this one and managed to score a bootleg of a previous session of me playing it to her, because at least twice a day it feels like she’s in there practicing flamenco dancing to it.

We’re Going to Be Friends, The White Stripes
A delightful tune for baby and all her buddies waiting outside the belly.

Godspeed, The Dixie Chicks
This is one of the ones I sing to her. Because it makes me very, very happy. (song ends at 4:40)

15 Responses to “Belly Jams Vol. I”

  1. Daddy O Says:

    OK, It’s official! “Godspeed” MUST be on every one of my play lists on my iTouch!

  2. I-66 Says:

    Just be glad she isn’t playing Rodrigo y Gabriela’s Diablo Rojo. I’m sweating just thinking about trying to dance to it.

  3. Allison Curti Says:

    I had God Speed on mine too…. 🙂 Also, Little One but Kathy Zavada, several different ones by Celine Dion, In my daughters eyes by Martina McBride and more. Loved my motherhood CD! Love your blog now can not imagine how funny it will be when your baby is here. 🙂 Congratulations!

  4. Skywalker Says:

    At least your kid isnt a comformist! My husband has been singing “Day and Night” just to piss me off. I think the baby finds this funny too. I agree Feist, Bobby Darin and Nina Simone are not elists but calming. I’m all for it.

    Also try some Sade, Bob Dylan, Carole King, and Corrine Bailey Rae – very mellow. And if the kid wants to jump around, try The Cure.

  5. Lacey McCabe Says:

    Hey Cynthia! I added this song to my cousin’s “Mommy Soundtrack” last year… it’s kinda Texas-folksy, happy and the lyrics are great (warning: it may make you cry): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lVam-fshUgw

  6. Phil Says:

    That’s nice, but the baby has requested you add some funk (Prince) and some Kenny Rogers into the mix.

  7. babybird Says:

    Daddy O – It’s good stuff, isn’t it?

    I-66 – Is that a Striker favorite?

    Allison – Thanks!

    Skywalker – Ooh, those babies always take sides with their fathers, don’t they. 😉 Good call on the other items. I’d probably fry my noodle trying to figure out which Dylan song would be best though.

    Lacey – I love that song! Great addition, you’re right. I’ve been unable to find any YouTube of Lyle doing the Texas River Song but I also play that one for her on the iPod.

    Phil – Hmm. Problem solved.

  8. Jo Says:

    So yeah, I love all of those songs. The only one I don’t know is the Dixie Chicks song which I will put on my to download list immediately after all these raves.

    Have you heard of The Boy Least Likely To? They sound like they should be a children’s band but they’re songs are so sweet. I like My Tiger My Heart quite a bit.

  9. I-66 Says:

    Striker is more a fan of big band music.

  10. Curious Says:

    May I kindly suggest Pearl Jam’s “All Those Yesterdays?” I hum that to my niece and it’s one of the few times she stops wailing.

  11. Hammer Says:

    I can’t stand Blind Melon, like, at all. But…

    They kinda nailed this cover: (Music starts at 0:13)

    Blind melon – three is a magic numberUploaded by popefucker. – Watch more music videos, in HD!

  12. Hammer Says:

    So um… yeah. The embedding feature didn’t really work on that last one. The first link still takes you to the video though. Sorry about that whole popef***** thing.

    In other news, you also need this.

  13. lemmonex Says:

    I love Natalie Maines’ voice; it is just so pure and pretty, but also astonishingly powerful. Such a lovely song too; I am sure your lady appreciates it.

  14. elisa Says:

    Tiny Dancer seems especially appropriate at a time like this.

  15. Sioux Says:

    I can’t believe you put the White Stripes on there. I mean, do you want her to think that atonality is a virtue? 😉

Leave a Reply

