Why The Baby Industry Hates Us Friday

cufflinkspremier_2055_185038704Item: Sonogram Cufflinks
Price: $65

A while back, a co-worker interested in all things baby asked me to send him my sonogram picture. (I should say he’s a delightful chap I know well with his own daughter and grandchildren. It wasn’t some random weirdo from the loading dock or anything.) I was happy to oblige because this particular baby is so gosh darn adorable but as I clicked “Send” it occurred to me, “I’m sending him a picture of my uterus. Is that odd?”

The makers of Sonogram Cufflinks want to go one better: they want my husband to parade around the office, nice restaurants, press conferences, what have you, brandishing a tiny photo of my uterus on his sleeves. As a Boing Boing commenter aptly states: “Hey Bruce, what’s that on your cuffs?” “Oh that? That’s a sonogram image of my unborn progeny as he sits nestled comfortably within my wife’s birth canal. Want to see Polaroids of the conception?” Or as blogger Lemmonex put it when calling these tiny terrors to my attention, “So not OK.”

My favorite part of the ad copy states, “Send us your own sonogram photos.” Er, do they get a lot of people requesting cufflinks featuring other people’s sonogram photos? “Hey Bruce, what’s that on your cuffs?” “Oh that? That’s a sonogram image of your unborn progeny as he sits nestled comfortably within your wife’s birth canal. Want to see Polaroids of the conception?”

4 Responses to “Why The Baby Industry Hates Us Friday”

  1. Skywalker Says:

    That is gross. I get Baby’s first picture and the first family portrait but this has gone too far.

    So glad the hubs hasn’t discovered French cuffs yet. I don’t need to explain this over dinner.

  2. RCR Says:

    As an Obama camper, are you aware that Obama had Michael Jackson killed to detract from the Iran conflict.

    It’s science.

  3. lemmonex Says:

    I emailed this to some friends of mine who are expecting and said if I saw these anywhere in their home, I’d be forced to deny ever knowing them.

    Too creepy for words.

  4. Phil Says:

    I heard Michael Jackson owned a pair of sonogram cufflinks (baby unknown).

Leave a Reply

