“The Sabine and the Sulpher Hold Beauties A’Many”

ipodmybabyAt long last, I finally put together a labor day playlist: 161 songs clocking in at 11 hours, 14 minutes and 18 seconds. If this baby requires more than 746.2 megabytes of music to arrive I’m going to assume I’ll have long since stopped caring whether Wilco or Whitesnake is tinkling out of the iPod speakers. You’ll notice that the last section is when we have to go to Plan B—forget the variety and just play something that won’t make me want to hurl a bucket of ice chips at the stereo.

One thing I found puzzling: everything I read said to make a playlist of soothing music that will be calming during labor. But considering that delivering a baby seems to be most akin to the time I ran a half-marathon, I’m thinking that the last thing I wanted to get through the final miles was soothing music. Although I did refrain from putting Dropkick Murphys tunes on here, figuring the nursing staff might mutiny.

While there are some tunes selected because they slyly reference babies, little girls, or childbirth, in general you’ll find a dearth of sappy “we’re having a beautiful little angel baby poofypants” pablum on here. Also, I’m sure there are plenty of songs on the list with lyrics that reference horrific events, relationships torn asunder and the wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald. I didn’t care, as long as it had a good beat and our little Soul Train contestant could dance her way out to it.

Feel free to begin psychoanalyzing at will…

Picture 2Picture 3Picture 4

9 Responses to ““The Sabine and the Sulpher Hold Beauties A’Many””

  1. Jo Says:

    Wow, have similar taste in music! I have almost ALL of those songs. You should check out Wilco’s most recent two albums, I think you’d dig. Imogen Heap (singer of FrouFrou) is also wonderful.

  2. etcetera Says:

    this play list needs MORE COW BELL.

  3. Daddy O Says:

    Unless I missed it, I do not see Cyrus Chestnut’s version of “You are my sunshine”!

  4. babybird Says:

    Jo-Love the new Wilco album, and the last. Went a little old school though and pulled from my favorite, A.M.

    Etc-Because you will be providing the cowbell live. In your cow costume.

    Daddy-O-Ooh, that is a good one!

  5. Velvet Says:

    Here’s to wishing the baby comes during “Beyond the Sea” putting your labor in at an estimated 12 minutes…however, if you make it to the song those good old rocking Allmans wrote for me, I’d be pretty happy!

    Congrats!

  6. Phil Says:

    Personally, I hope D’Angelo’s “Brown Sugar” is playing at the moment of delivery, because it would be hilarious.

  7. Skywalker Says:

    Sounds soothing. I’m going to have a little mix of classical and some soft jams – not too soft though.

    And there is nothing wrong with Brown Sugar playing. How are you feeling now?

  8. babybird Says:

    Velvet–I’ll take either one of those because they’re both pretty early in the playlist! Thanks!

    Phil–If it works for babymakin’…

    Skywalker–Maybe we should market these Belly Jams playlists. 😉 Feeling good. Getting ready to do this thing!

  9. Anonymous Says:

    What? No Aggie War Hymn?

    “Sweet Child O’ Mine” made me laugh out loud.

Leave a Reply

