Size Matters

9623_163011031135_721741135_4154618_5355680_n

How is it possible that there is already a clear plastic trunk labeled “Newborn – 2 Months” containing tiny clothes that Sabine has outgrown? Inside, piles of folded dresses, sun bonnets, newborn blankets, and jammies that fit one day and the next looked like her feet were about to Hulk right through the bottom.

How is the need to sort and cull and stow possible when she just got here?

But she didn’t just get here. It was three months ago. Summer’s gone and the spaghetti-strap romper no bigger than a washcloth is in storage and the larger polar fleece hoodie has come into heavy rotation. I must confess to sniffling a bit when folding up the outfits that will forever be burned into my brain as The First Things Our Baby Ever Wore — the strawberry onesie with the fanny ruffles that she wore home from the hospital, the pink linen dress that was the first item I purchased after learning it was a girl. These are the things she wore when she lay there watching us watching her, all of us trying to figure this new arrangement out.

It’s a good sign though, all this sorting. It means she’s growing and healthy. It means we’ve got three months under our belts. The plastic trunk went down into our storage area this evening. I don’t know if we’ll ever need it again but I do know we’ll never get rid of it.

6 Responses to “Size Matters”

  1. Luna Says:

    I did the same thing this weekend (a little overdue – my chubby boy is 4 months old now)! The only thing that kept me from crying while putting away the 0-3 month clothes was the excitement of rotating in the 3-6 month clothes, and the anticipation of the 6-9 month clothes, which are still in the big plastic bin. I’ve always heard “they grow so fast” but man, until you’re there, you have no idea. Sabine is absolutely beautiful, and I’m sure she’s got several closets-full of cute, adorable outfits ahead.

  2. Amy Says:

    She’s so big! 🙂

  3. freckledk Says:

    Great seeing you! I feel so fortunate to have seen the little puddin in person. She’s GORGEOUS.

    If you and Scott ever need some extra cash, I’d be happy to buy one of your babies. So, so good looking and, I’m sure, wicked smaht.

  4. Lisa Says:

    SUCH a cutie! It is extraordinary how one day something fits and the next day it is too tight. I am just doing this exercise myself.

  5. Skywalker Says:

    What a cutie pie! So does this mean you’re getting the “Sabine” dress from Lily for her? I’m trying to contain myself at the newborn items. But congrats on three months.

  6. Jaime Says:

    *Sigh* She is adorable! They do grow oh-so-quickly, don’t they? My sis just had one, and she’s already two months old – I can’t believe it! Glad you’re not tossing the little bitty clothes – Sabine might enjoy looking through them someday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

