How Can I Type When The Baby Keeps Eating Fingers?

To describe how life has changed since we came down with a case of the babies (phraseology credit: Johanna) is like asking someone to describe what the Grand Canyon looks like. Um, it’s big and stuff. That which previously seemed important falls away. That which did not seem important (feces!) becomes an embarrassing hunk of your life.

All of this is setup for the most obvious blog post in the Bird trilogy: time to wrap it up for good. It is not coincidence that the last post I was able to muster was on the final day of my maternity leave, and that this one comes only because a blizzard has shut down my office indefinitely. Evenings — previously the blogging hour — now pass in a delightful haze of bathtime and burbling and burping and “Boohoo, we want our appendixes out, too!”* and beddybye.

I thank you for reading. For cooing with gusto at the appropriate time. For taking umbrage when umbrage taking was appropriate. For cheering me on when the petit bebe appeared to have no interest in arriving in a timely fashion.

Please entertain yourself with the lovely bloggers at right. As always, last one out, please turn off the lights.

Love,
The Bird

* Bonus points for those who can name the book without teh Google.

14 Responses to “How Can I Type When The Baby Keeps Eating Fingers?”

  1. K Says:

    It’s Madeline! It’s Madeline!
    I’m sure Miss Clavel is not at all surprised by this development, but 12 little girls in two straight lines will miss you… as will I.

  2. Lemon Gloria Says:

    Well, I will just have to get my updates in person, then!

  3. Jessica Says:

    Having relatively recently found you (well, right around the time you got married), I’m a little bummed because I feel like I didn’t get enough! However, I completely understand why you’re hanging up the keyboard. I’ll miss the baby pictures! Good luck to you all.

  4. Daddy O Says:

    Sorry to see the “Bird” closing up shop. Fortunately, I will be able to read anything she writes and wants me to read for a very long time. I love you “Bird”!

  5. Rick Says:

    Oh, blogging archnemesis, this was an unfortunate formality. It’s been a pleasure. I mean it.

  6. Hammer Says:

    Goodnight commenters and goodnight blog,
    Goodnight mice and goodnight dog.

    Goodnight Aggies gear tucked into nooks,
    Goodnight style manuals and Bloom County books.

    Goodnight snow and goodnight slush,
    Goodnight Miss Bird, whispering, “Hush…”

    Goodnight Daddy O, in whom she confides,
    Goodnight DVDs, the Dude still abides.

    Goodnight stars and goodnight air,
    Goodnight noises everywhere.

  7. babybird Says:

    Hammer, I’m speechless. Thank you.

    And thank you everyone for reading.

  8. ms. spinach Says:

    boohoo indeed.

    you will be missed! (and not just ’cause it was nice to read a blogger who could spell and craft actual, intelligent sentences. though that WAS nice.) come back anytime!

  9. Phil Says:

    Enjoy your family.

    It was a pleasure watching you reproduce.

  10. Mary Beth Says:

    I just discovered this last entry and I am also a little sad.

  11. Jaime Says:

    Oh no. Perhaps you will post a pictoral update of the little darling every once in a blue moon?

    I will miss your writing, though, very much. I’m glad you’re off to the next chapter in your life, though!

  12. Skywalker Says:

    Hammer said it best! Congrats again! She’s fabulous! When Baby Bird part deux (Rise of the Son) springs up – I want to know.

  13. Where Are They Now? « Says:

    […] last we checked in with baby bird nine months ago, she was eating our fingers, preventing […]

  14. latoniavelez93213 Says:

    Welcome to the blogosphere. I look forward to the shedding of light and shredding of obfuscation. Oh, and the pictures too! Click http://d2.ae/hool09080

Leave a Reply

